A Brief History
The company was founded in 1902 at Bank Street, St. Columb by Mr. JOHN EDYVEAN who later died in 1929 and it was then run by his son, TOM EDYVEAN, later to be joined by another son, JAMES EDYVEAN. The company was shut down during the war years and then re-started at the end of the war in new premises at Higher East Street, St. Columb.
In 1950 IVAN SMITH joined the firm as an apprentice for 5 years, then did his National Service, after which he joined the firm of John Chugg, Printers in Newquay to gain more experience, also taking a course at Plymouth College of Art and Design. After this period he rejoined the firm of J. EDYVEAN & SON as a partner in 1968.
In 1978 after spending several years situated in two different premises the firm moved 100 metres across the road into new premises that used to be the Bible Christian Chapel in Fore Street.
In 1982 Ivan took over the business, after the retirement of Mr. JAMES EDYVEAN.
Following the death of Ivan in August 2002 the firm is now run by his two sons TERRY and CRAIG, who have both been pupils at Plymouth College of Art and Design.
The company has gone from setting type by hand, to hot metal linotype, then on to phototypesetting and now through to computerised Desktop Publishing.
The name of Edyvean is still retained, although from 1982 the firm was renamed Edyvean Printers.